Frequently Asked Questions About Florida DUI Charges
It is upsetting and scary to be facing a drunk driving charge here in Fort Myers or the surrounding area. At Absolute Law, we offer clear, focused representation that you can trust. Here, our attorneys answer some of the most common questions they receive.
What are the consequences of getting a DUI in Florida?
Florida has some harsh penalties for DUI convictions. A first conviction for DUI will lead to a fine between $500 and $1,000, and up to six months in jail. You may also be saddled with additional penalties such as the loss of your driver’s license for up to a year, an ignition interlock device for up to six months, up to 50 hours of community service, monthly probation reporting for a year and vehicle impoundment for up to 10 days.
Like most states, Florida also has enhanced penalties for people who are convicted of DUI with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level that is above 0.15 and when there is a minor in the car at the time of the incident. Penalties for subsequent DUI convictions continue to increase in severity, as well.
What is the legal BAC limit for drivers in Florida?
Like other states, Florida imposes a “per se” limit on drivers that says a blood alcohol content level of 0.08 or above is legal intoxication, regardless of whether the driver seems impaired.
How long will a DUI conviction stay on my record in Florida?
Florida is extremely serious about DUIs. A conviction will stay on your record for 75 years, and it cannot be expunged. That is one of the reasons it is critical to get an experienced defense attorney on your side.
Can I refuse a breathalyzer test if I’m pulled over for a suspected DUI in Florida?
Implied consent laws say that if you want the privilege of a Florida driver’s license, you must agree to chemical blood alcohol testing if you are arrested for a DUI. If you refuse, your driver’s license can be suspended for one year. A second refusal can lead to misdemeanor charges in addition to an 18-month license suspension.
Let Us Help You Get Through This
At Absolute Law, we work hard to minimize the consequences of DUI charges for our clients. Call us at 239-268-4669 or use our online contact form to reach out and schedule your free consultation today.